Interview With A Christian

Perhaps I should vet these reporters, thought Jim.

A perky blonde reporter from some religious birdcage-liner asked “Are you a man of faith, your Majesty?”

“Ma’am, I must apologize, but I never discuss such private matters.”

“But, are you a Christian?”

Jim said nothing.

“OK, moving along. Does Wallenberg have religious freedom?”

“We have freedom. Freedom isn’t like a pie, something for people to divide and squabble over. We have a saying, which sort of exemplifies my way of thinking, and it seems not unpopular. ”

“Yes?”

Jim pointed to a plaque on his desk, which read Peace is morally and socially acceptable.

“What does that mean?”

Jim answered “Does your religion – whatever it may be – require you to use violence, for any other reason than legitimate defense? If not, your religion can be practiced peacefully. I’m good with that. Your Thomas Jefferson wrote this:”

The legitimate powers of government extend only to such acts as are injurious to others. But it does me no injury for my neighbor to say there are twenty gods or no god. It neither picks my pocket nor breaks my leg.

“Thank you, sir.”

“And thank you, Ma’am.”

Leave a Reply

